The Millenium Trilogy

I’m currently reading the first book of the Millenium Trilogy, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo; so what’s the deal, you will think, this book was published more than a year ago… Yes, my dear reader, you are very right. Why the post? Two very good reasons. The first one, I’m enjoying it immensely and, even if I am the last person on Earth to have read it this late in time, I wanted to share my experience with the rest of the world. The second one, ‘The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest’, the third novel in the ‘Millenium’ saga was published in English a few days ago.

I have had the first two books on my shelf for some time now, but I just refused to be influenced by the media hype around them. It was a little act of rebellion, but I hate to read what everybody else is reading. Don’t ask me why I bought them, though; sometimes I just can’t make sense of myself, and when it comes to books, I’m a bit of a compulsive buyer.

Even when a friend of mine at work – whose opinion I value highly – recommended ‘Millenium I’,  I did not give in, not yet. You could see everybody reading it, on the bus, on the train, or carrying one as if it was a treasured possession… But I would not surrender, I would not be one of them.

Then, the second part of the trilogy came out: The Girl Who Played With Fire. It became an instant success story, just like the first book, which was then being made into a film. So,  more Larsson everywhere, spreading like wildfire :-); on TV and cinemas, in bookshops and shopping centres, in magazines and newspapers. I was running out of stuff to read, and there they were, on my shelf, crying out to be read, but I was adamant.

Two weeks ago, though, while perusing my bookshelf desperate for something to read, I saw the red and blue spines (Millenium I and II),  and I succumbed. I have become a ‘common’ reader… after all, there is nothing wrong with that condition – unlike swine flu – and, even if I hate to admit it,  it has happened before.

So, I confess, I can’t wait to read the rest of the saga, but I won’t see the films… 🙂

One Response

  1. I don’t think youare the last person in the world to read these books. As far as I can see the media hype was very much in this country. In other countries it was just another best seller amongst many. The interesting thing is how it was sold here and how it then became a badge of individuality not to be reading it. I have read columns in newspapers bragging about not being one of the crowd, not succumbing to the trend of the moment. The sad thing is that most people who proudly proclaim not to have read Millenium have not read anything else either. I know this is not your case but anything that encourages reading in this sadly book scorning society is always to be welcomed.

Comments are closed.

